National Flood Insurance Program

Congress created the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) to provide affordable flood insurance to people who live in neighborhoods with the greatest risk of flooding (Special Flood Hazard Areas). The NFIP makes federally backed flood insurance available in communities that adopt and enforce floodplain management ordinances to reduce flood damage. This is very important, since property owners who hold a federally backed mortgage must purchase flood insurance if the property in located within a SFHA.

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a program developed by the Federal Insurance Administration to provide incentives for NFIP communities that implement more stringent floodplain standards than the minimum federal requirements. The CRS rewards these efforts with discounts on flood insurance premiums. The Town currently has a Class 8 CRS rating, which equates to a 10 percent discount on new or renewing flood insurance policies for all SFHA properties.


Since flooding is the most common natural disaster, it is important that you obtain the maximum protection. You can purchase flood insurance irrespective of where you reside - in high, moderate or low risk areas - and there is no exclusion as to what type of ownership you represent (i.e., homeowner, renter or business owner).

Click here to see the Town's Flood and Hurricane newsletter.

Latest Flood Maps

Here are the most recent flood maps and FEMA's Flood Elevation Certificate :

Town Flood Map (PDF)

Broward County/FEMA Interactive Flood Map